Hot Loving

Crockpot I mean.

I love Jesus. I love Ryan, and I love my crockpot. In that exact order. When I registered for my crockpot last year, I had no idea about the quick bond that would form. My wonderful friends Erin & Katelyn bought it for me, and I am forever grateful!

My latest recipe with my beloved crockpot was Chicken n’ Dumplins (not to be pronounced Chicken and Dumplings – in the south you slur it into one word – Chicken n’ Dumplins – one word, real fast, because that’s how granny said it). Want to know why I decided we HAD TO HAVE Chicken n’ Dumplins this week?

RYAN HAS NEVER HAD THEM!!!! Picture me gasping in horror and maybe even slapping my mother. Kidding. No slapping, just gasping.

Ryan grew up in Kentucky. I grew up thinking Kentucky was a southern state. I therefore assumed Ryan was southern. False! My mistake. People from Kentucky might as well be Yankees. Never had Chicken n’ Dumplins? Seriously? I am surprised Ryan has lived to be 26.  Before we started dating, Ryan had also never had peanut butter pie, fried okra, fried pickles, and homemade jelly of any kind. The list could keep going. Needless to say, my mother and I quickly fixed this! He has now eaten all the items listed above plus some 🙂

Anyway, back to the crockpot. This was my first time using this recipe. Here is the recipe!

                                          Heaven in a crockpot
 
4-6 boneless skinless chicken breasts (I used 2 very large ones)
2 tablespoons butter
2 cans cream of chicken soup
1 can chicken broth
1 onion diced
1 tablespoon dried parsley
4 grands flaky refrigerator biscuits
 
 Place chicken in crockpot. Add the next 5 ingredients. Cook on high 4-6 hours. After time has elapsed , shred chicken with a fork. Then, cut each biscuit into 9 pieces and continue to cook for 30 minutes. Serve hot. Add more chicken broth as necessary.

I actually used cut up tortillas instead of biscuits because that is how my mom always made dumplings. I think the biscuits can be a little chewy, but maybe I just don’t let them cook long enough. I get really excited about Chicken N’ Dumplins and sometimes lose my patience 🙂

Hope you enjoy!

Brittney

6 thoughts on “Hot Loving

  1. Okay, this looks FANTASTIC! And I will confess that Wayne and I were YEARS into our marriage before he EVAH (tell Ryan that’s EVER) had anything as good as this looks! You go, girl!

  2. How did Ryan ever thrive?! It’s not that Kentucky is not southern, it’s just that his parents came from Missouri where chicken and dumplings were not popular. Although, he’s had his fair share of chicken and noodles (a yankee’s substitute.) The recipe looks yummy, though.

  3. Pingback: Day 1 = Welcome to the jungle | younganddomestic

  4. Pingback: 31 Days: No Kitchen Drama | younganddomestic

Leave a Reply

