And Sew it goes…

This post actually has nothing to do with sewing, but it does involve an old sewing machine. The sewing machine was given to me by my grandmother, but it was in really rough shape. I wanted to keep it, but wasn’t sure what I would do with a sewing machine that was dirty, rusty, and almost falling apart. Some of the drawers were even missing.

 Please forgive the terrible Iphone photos.

I knew that salvaging the wood top was beyond my skill set, but the iron base I could work with. So, after browsing around for inspiration, it hit me. NEW. KITCHEN. TABLE. BOOM.

Ryan’s kitchen table looked like this.

I forgot to take a before photo (oops!) so I grabbed this one off the internet, but it is almost an exact match to the one Ryan had. So yea. Not really my style. At all. Or Ryan’s. Still not sure what Ryan’s style is, but it was not this table. I keep telling Ryan that cheap is not a style…

So after confirming that Ryan did not love this table – an indirect way of giving me permission to transform it – I put my plan into action! MUHAHAHAHA! TABLE, YOU SHALL BE MINE! *insert even laugh again*

Step One – take the table apart. Easy as pie. Remove the legs. Bam.

Step Two – Take Sewing machine apart. Alright, so this was a little tricky and required extra muscle from Ryan. I removed the necessary screws (sorry I don’t have pictures, I was too busy cursing at the sewing machine), but the rust was holding the entire thing together. After some muscle power, we were able to remove the entire wood top from the iron frame. Whew.

Step Three – Sand. Sand. and Sand some more. I sanded the table top and chairs with 80 grit paper and then with a 220 grit to finish it off. Also, it is important to sand WITH the grain of the wood to avoid noticable marks. The table top I was able to sand in no time (an hour max). The chairs were down right evil. Freaking spindles. The chairs took A LOT longer, probably around 2 hours each. I did the sanding in stages, usually 2 hour increments. After 2 hours my hands were numb and needed a break.

Here is the evil kitchen chairs before I sanded them. EVIL.

After sanding, I wiped them down with a damp cloth to remove all sanding remnants.

Step Four – stain table and chairs. I wanted something much darker, so I went with a Walnut colored stain (Minwax Wood Finish in Walnut to be exact). I followed the directs provided. After the two coats of stain had been applied and dried, I painted the edge of the table black and applied two coats of polyurethane to protect and finish.

Step Five – clean and paint sewing machine base. I scrubbed the cast iron base with a wire brush to remove large pieces of rust. Then, I covered the base in two coats of black Rustoleum spray paint. With Rustoleum spray paint, your can spray right over rust. It not only provides an attractive finish, it also protects it from rusting again.

Step Six – Put humpty dumpty back together again. Once everything had dried, I attached the sewing machine base to the table with screws. Wa-la.

Here is the table finished and in it’s natural habitat. We love it! Overall, the project was easy but did take about two weeks to complete. Since I already had the kitchen table and the sewing machine was a gift, I only had to purchase the stain and polyurthane (about $12). Have you transformed any furniture lately? Anything around the house you have/could repurposed? Any ideas but been to afraid to try (go for it!)?

Leave a Reply

