“Sneaky Mom” Pasta Sauce

I still crack up at this video from Halloween. It makes me want to tell my future children that I ate all of their Halloween candy. And record the conversation. And put it on YouTube for the world to enjoy. We’ll just have to wait and see if I remember to pull that prank on my children.

One day I won’t have to just be sneaky to eat my children’s candy. I will have to be sneaky in order to get them to eat their vegetables. With that in mind, I am already trying to collect a few “Sneaky Mom” recipes -aka – recipes that have hidden fruits and vegetables that my future children will hopefully eat. Is weird that I pray my children will not be picky eaters? Because I do. Often.

This tomatoe sauce has lots of vegetables! Yum! You could also easily add ground turkey or ground beef to this recipe and make a vegetable and meat sauce. I made this without turkey or beef, but I did serve it baked chicken.  

Sneaky Mom Vegetable pasta sauce

Here is the recipe.

Sneaky Mom Vegetable & tomato sauce

2 small onions (chopped)

1 cup carrots (shreddded)

2 cups zucchini (shredded)

4 garlic gloves

2 tbsp butter

1 tbsp olive oil

2 16 oz. cans of diced tomatoes

2 16 oz. cans of tomatoe sauce

8 oz. spaghetti or pasta of choice

2 tbsp italian seasoning

1 1/2 tsp. salt

1 tsp pepper

Chop onion and shred carrots & zucchini (my box grater got a workout!).

Add olive oil  & butter to large sauce pan. Add onion, carrots & zucchini. Bring to medium heat.

Cook until onions & carrots are soft (not brown, just soft). Add crushed garlic and cook for 30 seconds (you will smell the garlic).

Softened vegetables

Get a wiff of the wonderful vegetable & garlic goodness. YUM! Who gets excited about vegetables? THIS LADY! and maybe a dietitian.

Add diced tomatoes and lower heat. Season with salt and pepper.

In large stock pot, bring salted water to boil. Add pasta and cook as directed (each pasta is a little different).

Add tomatoe sauce & italian seasoning to vegetable mixture. Let sauce simmer for 10-15 minutes.

Sneaky Mom vegetable & tomatoe sauce

Enjoy!! This makes 8 servings. I froze half of mine for a quick meal later.

Do you have any “Sneaky Mom” recipes? Anyone have amazing children who eat vegetables without being tricked? If so, share your secrets!

Leave a Reply

