Hello sunshine!

I jumped on the pinterest and blog land DIY sunburst bandwagon. Finally.

At first, I wasn’t really a big fan of the DIY versions. I oogled over several pricey versions, like this one and this one, but the DIY ones I saw weren’t really cutting it.

All the DIY versions were smaller and more modern that I really cared for.

I did get a kick out of this version!

Quirky sunburst

How funky is that? Perfect for a quirky kitchen!

It wasn’t until I found this sunburst on Pinterest that I decided to jump on the bandwagon. Thank you Shelley at Crazy Wonderful for sharing your sunburst tutorial with us! I followed her tutorial to make mine, but I did decide to use long and short shims (the in the wood working portion of your home store).

Sunburst Supplies

Here are my supplies:

  • 9 packages of large shims
  • 3 packages of short shims
  • Wood glue
  • Gorilla glue
  • Aged Bronze Metallic spray paint
  • Plywood
  • D-ring
  • Mirror

First, I just played around with the shims to get the layout and shape I was after. Once I had a plan, I started glueing (wood glue) the shims together in clusters of five, seven, and nine.  Once the glue has dried (follow the instructions on your wood glue), I glued the shim clusters into groups of three, then waited some more!

Wood shim sunburst

Actually, this is the part of the project where it sat in the guest room corner for two weeks….

Then, I spray painted all of the wood shim pieces/chunks with spray paint. I set one of our paint cloths outside and went to work. Lucky for me it wasn’t really windy that day, so there was very little aged copper paint on my pasty legs. Yea! It took three thin coats to get an even coverage.

Spray painted wood shims

With the shims painted, it was time for assembly. I had Ryan cut a piece of 3/8″ plywood to size to serve as backing. After I had reassembled the sunburst back together (I would recommend numbering the pieces, so you don’t have to puzzle piece it back together like I did…not fun…oh well). With the sunburst ready, I sandwiched the plywood, gorilla glue, wood shims, glue, mirror. Hopefully this picture will do a better job of what I mean by sandwich.

I applied pressure using a box of books. Dont’ tell Ryan I used some of his science books! Shhh….

I actually let it dry for a few days, just to be safe. I would have cried had this crumbled apart when I was trying to hang it. Cried. Alligator tears. Maybe even some mumbled, cursing under my breath.

Lucky for me, this bad boy did not fall apart! I attached a D-ring to the back and quickly hung my new baby above the mantel. Wa-la!

DIY sunburst

The sweet black lab would be Tori. She is upset I woke her up from her nap.

 

I will be honest and tell you I am still struggling to remove the sticker “gloop” off the mirror. Any advice? I tried rubbing alcohol and several rounds of windex.

DIY Sunburst mirror

I am pretty happy with how it turned out! Pretty happy as in I smile at it every time I walk through our living room. No joke. I loved how Katie Bower’s sunburst mirror turned out, too. Katie’s mirror is what got me off my rump to finally make my own.

Feel free to offer suggestions for removing annoying sticker residue! Have you completed any pinterest inspired projects lately? On the fence about sunburst mirrors?

Thanks for reading!

Brittney

10 thoughts on “Hello sunshine!

  1. It’s just gorgeous, Brittany – I can’t wait to make one myself! Thank you so much for sharing. Goo Be Gone is a fantastic product for removing adhesive residue as well as just about anything else.
    Amy

  2. Try WD40. Your Papa McAdams was a true believer and felt every person’s tool box should have it in it!

  3. Lighter Fluid will remove the stickyness…if you aren’t afriad of the fumes. We used to use it at a store I worked at to remove sticky price tags.

  4. Love the mirror! I think I will have to try it this weekend… As for the “goo”, I always just use extra virgin olive oil (or whatever oil you have on hand). I put some on a paper towel, rub it over the sticky part, and clean it up with glass cleaner. Has worked every time (and I always have those things on hand).

Leave a Reply

