Day 1 = Welcome to the jungle

There is one room in the new-old house I haven’t shared…..The Tiger Room. Why have we lovingly labeled the tiger room? Well. Let’s take a look.

Lion's Room

Roar!!

Tiger Room

Top it all of with a little 70s flair…

70s flair

Snazzy, right? The Tiger room is one of the upstairs bedrooms, and obviously, decorated with lovely, large tiger and 70s artwork. And paneling, can’t forget the paneling. The previous owner or renter must have really loved these tigers because one is GLUED in place, like with construction adhesive. Not moving. At all. One tiger won’t budge, so it will have to hang around until we get to removing the paneling.

Anyways, we were very happy to close on the house Tuesday afternoon, hurray!! Thank you for all of your encouragement and kind words.

Work officially started yesterday. First step, clear out miscellaneous stuff left by the previous owner.

1st load

I have a whole truck load of stuff (cabinets, shelving, curtains, blinds, hairbrush??) to take to Habitat Restore today. It was pretty exciting to start taking out remnants of the previous owner. It is starting to feel more like ours already!

We also had dinner for the first time in the house. Take a peek at our new dinner routine 🙂

Crock pot to the rescue! You guys already know about my love for my crock pot, and my love will probably only grow during this renovation process.

Our new dining room is pretty nice. Some people would call it a porch…

Lastly, I think it is going to be really important for Ryan and I to celebrate the small victories during this entire process. Let’s celebrate this small victory.

Clean sink

A clean sink!!!!!! I now feel sale to wash hands. It was pretty nasty. I will save your eyes from a before picture. Trust me, you don’t want to see it.

We will be back at the house Saturday clearing out a few more things. We are having my parents over for dinner to celebrate Dad’s birthday tonight, so no new-old house work tonight. What are you doing this weekend? Anything around the house? Dinner party? I’m making fried chicken tonight for the first time. Fingers crossed all goes well!!

3 thoughts on “Day 1 = Welcome to the jungle

  1. That Tiger room is too much! I bet it felt great to start clearing out and tearing down stuff. This is an empowering part, I think. “IT’S MINE ALL MINE! Watch how great it will be”! My crock pot saved my life many days. It’s used regularly. I’ll have to try some of your recipes. And I love your dining room… it’s so open and airy. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Termites: The Terrible Trilogy | younganddomestic

Leave a Reply

