Termites: The Terrible Trilogy

I wish I was kidding ya’ll, but I’m not.  We found MORE termite damage this week. This time, we found the lovely little bug trails in the kitchen area. Here we are before I get started on removing the exterior wall…

I pulled down a few pieces of tongue and grove planks in the kitchen and WAM – termite damage!

Pretty nasty.  Thankfully, I just called our trusty Cook’s Pest Control contractor, and he came out and took care of removing the damaged areas and reframing on Tuesday. Have I said I love Cook’s today? No? Ok. Well, I love Cook’s. I LOVE COOK’S!

So far (actually, before we found more damage this week), the total for repairs, labor and materials, including materials to finish the room, was right around $14,700. Can you say YIKES?!?!?! Thank the Lord for Cook’s is all I can really say. The would have taken a nice chunk out of our renovation budget.

We actually had two of our neighbors pop in this week. Both haven’t seen it since we first purchased it. Let’s look take a look back…

And now it looks more like this….

If you are new here to Y&D – WELCOME and you can check out posts here, here, here and here to see work from the beginning.

Thanks for reading!! Any one placing bets on more termite damage? Any hoping this doesn’t turn into a terrible four-part series? Is there a correct name for a four-part series? I don’t even know. Anyways, thanks for stopping by!

I hope you all had a wonderful 4th of July as well!

Brittney

9 thoughts on “Termites: The Terrible Trilogy

  1. Oh NO.. not more! I guess at this point it probably doesn’t even phase you. You’re so lucky you have a company that will take care of all this damage. Actually I’m quite surprised that they continue to be so cooperative. Thank goodness for that.
    LOVE THE GROOVY WALLPAPER!

  2. Yet another beautiful picture of me! Thank you dear daughter!! I was amazed at how much has been done in the kitchen!! Cool!!

  3. I knew you was going to catch it when I saw that picture of your mom. you really do have a lot to be thankful for.

  4. Pingback: Termites: The dreaded fourth story | younganddomestic

  5. Pingback: 31 Days of Surviving a Renovation: Give Thanks | younganddomestic

  6. Pingback: Good week: We passed and I won! | younganddomestic

Leave a Reply

