Window Shopping: Light Fixture Addition

Now that our house looks like a bundle of electrical wires exploded on the inside, AND WE PASSED OUR ROUGH IN ELECTRICAL INSPECTION, I am looking forward to having REAL LIGHTS! You know how I feel about this whole working-in-the-dark-thing.

Day-light-savings-Brittney

Yea, I am not a big fan, but you know what I am a big fan of? Vintage and industrial style light fixtures. Honestly, at this point I am excited about the possibility of any sort of light fixture, but vintage inspired seem to be my jam. Sunday was dark and rainy, so I spent the afternoon shopping for our light fixtures on-line. By shopping I mean I had to actually starting narrowing down the hundred or so I had book marked on my computer and start selecting actual light fixtures. FOR REAL.

Let’s start with my dream light fixtures. Is it weird that I want to caress swing arm sconces? Probably. Anyways, here are the light fixtures I dream of having.

Dream Light fixtures copy

Sigh. Pretty, right? Let’s also through in a few Edison bulb fixtures for good measure. Well, when we had to slash our original budget these light fixtures had to become inspiration for more price friendly alternatives. You can find these light fixtures here, here, here, here, here, here and here.

Our lighting budget for the first floor is $1,200, so a $650 chandelier in the living room is not going to work. I have found some pretty nice (and price friendly) alternatives to my dream team fixtures.

Real Life lighting copy

You can find the fixtures here, here, here, here, here, here, here, and here. The mason jar pendant I will actually be making using a single bulb lantern kit and one of about 100 mason jars I have left over from our wedding. Hurray for almost free lighting!! I also have plans for “spiffing” up the chandelier for the light fixture so it looks more like the inspiration one. Hopefully my plan will work out well.

Ryan and I are VERY excited to have passed the electrical rough in. What a team of electricians completed in two and a half weeks would have taken us three months or more! We have also passed HVAC and gas inspection! YAY!

Overall, a good week. I also got a call today that our new windows are in. Merry Christmas to me! 🙂

What is your style? Do you lean more toward traditional or are you a fan of industrial as well? I am really digging Edison bulbs at the moments.

Leave a Reply

