Building Inspection: Passed. Immune Systems: Dead

Well guys, there have been worse weeks and there have been better weeks in the Saffell house. The past week and a half have been a doosey. The good part is that we passed our building inspection (Yay!) which gave us the go ahead to start insulating. *Woot Woot* The bad part is a few days later Ryan came down with Bronchitis, and then I came down with a stomach bug. Boo! I think our bodies held out just long enough to pass…and then they just gave out! Ha.

Ryan is still trying to get rid of the last of his cough, and I thankfully kicked my stomach bug after 24 hours.  We are getting back into the swing of things this week.  The good thing about insulation is that it doesn’t take a whole lot of effort or muscle power, two things we are still gaining back after being sick.

If you follow me on Instagram or Facebook, you probably know I was a little bit excited about our purchase on Saturday…


Insulation_purchased-on-ins

I believe pumped was the word I used actually. I was this weird person at Lowe’s at 9 o’clock in the morning skipping down the insulation aisle. Batts, R-Values, Rolls, OH MY!

Okay, that joke was probably funnier in my head or said out loud. Imagine me dancing and singing “Batts, R-Values and Rolls, OH MY!” to the tune of “Lions, Tigers, and Bears, OH MY!” Anywho, we bought our first round of insulation which is enough to give us a pretty good start on the first floor (our task for this week). I started working on that Saturday (pre-stomach bug, I promise I was not rolling insulation and puking at the same time).

Insulation_living-room Insulation_front-entry

Why yes, that is a shiny new window. We have six new windows….out of the fourteen we ordered….more details later….Dad stopped by Saturday afternoon to finish pulling some wire and cable and pitched in on insulation, too. Of course, Bella had to supervise and give kisses.

Bella-helping-Dad

Tori preferred to be more involved in quality control of the material itself.

Insulation_Tori-new-blanket

So far we can’t lay a piece down without Tori trying to sleep on it. I guess that is better than her trying to eat it though, right?!?!

Ryan also started working on the front porch last week. And by working I mean tearing it down.

Front-porch-gone

So happy to see that thing porch go! That porch was proof that paint is not always the answer. I wish I could go back in time and tell the previous owners to PUT THE PAINT DOWN!

Front-porch_demo

So, that is where we are this week. Have any of you guys been sick lately? I hope not! It is not fun. If you were one of many who wished me well or checked on me, thank you very much! What are you guys up to this week?

Peace.

Brittney

6 thoughts on “Building Inspection: Passed. Immune Systems: Dead

  1. Congrats on passing your inspection! How exciting to be moving on to the next phase. I’m jealous of your window replacing skills – we have so far hired ours out (which of course, ends up being super expensive). Hope you continue to feel better.

  2. Pingback: They see me rollin’ (insulation) | younganddomestic

Leave a Reply

