The Waiting Game

Howdy! Long time, no see. The past two weeks have flown by. Can you believe it is the middle of February?? Seriously. Last week, we celebrated my mother’s birthday (I won’t tell you how old because she would kill me), Ryan’s 28th birthday and then I spent the weekend with 130 teenagers on a church retreat. I am pooped!

While time seems to be flying by, house work has been a little on the slow side. We have been piddling around while we wait on our second round of windows to come in. I have grown very impatient during this process. Without windows, we are almost at a stand still. Thankfully, they will be delivered tomorrow and will be installed on Friday. Fingers crossed that this time everything is correct!!! Another mistake will cause a major melt down by yours truly.

Two Saturdays ago, Ryan and I finished insulating the kitchen ceiling. If you follow me on Instagram or on Facebook you probably already knew that.

Insulation-finished_kitchen Insulation_kitchen-ceiling-

I am very grateful Ryan has no fear of ladders!! I stayed securely on the ground during most of this process. I handled all of the cutting of material, while Ryan secured it in place. I did help out a little on a step ladder when needed though.

Insulation_finished_Brittne

That is my “use-my-head-because-my-shoulder-are-burning-method.” Works well in a pinch!! Our supervisor Bella was a major slacker though….

Insulation-finished_BellaDon’t be fooled. The dog has her own dog bed and chair at the condo; however, insulation makes an excellent substitute in a time of need!

To insulate the kitchen ceiling, Ryan and I continued to use the roll in insulation. We used a combination of R-13, R-19 and R-30, depending on how much space we had to work with. Hopefully our building inspector won’t give us grief about it.

Insulation_kitchen-ceilng-c

Whose ready for a real ceiling?! ME!!! We have to wait for sheet rock and finishing until after all the insulation is in and our building inspector has approved and given us the go ahead. We are hoping to have her back out next week (after the windows are installed and we can finish insulating).

Another exciting progress report – the front porch!

Front-porch-redo

Our front porch is STRAIGHT. and LEVEL. and has NEW decking. No more risk of falling through. We have amazing friends who offered to help us for a few Saturdays, and we put them to work outside. Didn’t they do a great job?

Front-porch-decking

You know what is the only bad part of a brand new porch?

Front-porch-mess

Unwanted yard art!! Oh well. Luckily our neighbors don’t complain about our “signs of progress” as I call them. The toilet and refrigerator in the yard? Just a sign of progress friends!! 🙂

What have you guys been up to??

Have a great week! Peace.

Brittney

2 thoughts on “The Waiting Game

Leave a Reply

