Farmhouse Table: In Progress

Pssst! Family & Friends – Don’t forget to mark your calendars for our Open House party!

Happy Sunday guys! I hope you are having an enjoyable weekend so far. Ryan and I have had a pretty balanced work-rest-play weekend and for that I am very grateful. Slowly, but surely we are figure out how this “normal” life things works 🙂

If you are friends with me on Facebook and Instagram, you may already know we have started working on a new dining room table! I mentioned a few weeks ago (here) that we picked up some cherry wood from my grandparents in Cullman. Well, the wood spent the first few weeks just hanging out by the front door.

living-room_dining-room-tab

Just a normal scene at the Saffell house. Last weekend, we sold our dining room set on Craig’s list so we could get started on the new farmhouse table. We decided to use an Ana White plan to build the farmhouse table, only instead of using new material we reused old 2x4s studs (from our house of course) and the cherry wood.  You can see the plan for the table here.

With the dining room empty, we laid out the boards to get a feel for the size. We had envisioned from the get-go that the table would be roughly 4 feet wide and 8 feet long, large enough to comfortably seat 8 to 10 people.

dining-room-table_layout

We opted to keep the table 8 feet long, but adjusted the width to 42″ wide instead of 48″ for a few reasons. The first reason is to help trim off part of the wood that has some serious cupping and warping issues. The wood has been sitting in my Papa’s barn for a good long while, so it is not perfect by any means. Don’t get me wrong – I LOVE IT, but it’s just not perfect. Anyways, the second reasons is to create a more comfortable walk way on both sides of the table. You would be surprised what a difference 6 inches makes!

I have to say that pretty much all the work has been done by Ryan, so he gets the credit for this one! Be sure to pat him on the back next time you seen him. Part of his “Furlough Fridays” have been spent working on this little project! He started by building the X-frame bases per the instructions.

dining-room-table-base

Ryan assembled this part of the base upstairs in our workshop/master bedroom, and we assembled the rest of the base downstairs in the dining room. I am not going to even try to break down building it step by step because Ana White does it for you! And better than I would.

This is the only part I have actually helped with thus far: Connecting the two bases together!

dining-room-table_base

Next, we cut a piece of 3/4″ plywood the same size as the finished top (42″ x 96″) and assembled the cherry pieces on top. Side note – we sanded the cherry before this step! We used an 80 grit sandpaper with our hand held sander as the first round. We are going to come back again with a finer grit later.

dining-room-table_top-in-pl

The picture above was during our sitting-height-table-test. Slightly taller chairs would be more comfortable, so I am currently bargain hunting for those.

We secured the cherry to the plywood using 1 5/8″ wood screws from underneath the table. This also helped pullout some of the minor cupping and twisting. On the top, we decided to add some decorative wrought iron nails. We decided on these from House of Antique Hardware because we loved the look and the price was right.

Can you image having to actually forge your own nails?!?!?! I am so thankful I can just buy these because I think they look awesome!!

dining-room-table_nail-head

I love the contrast of the black iron with the cherry wood. Next up is a little more sanding, wrapping the edges in some sort of trim, and putting a finish on the wood. We are leaning towards just using Boiled Linseed Oil with lacquer, but not positive.

Another exciting thing this week – FABRIC SAMPLES!

living-room-fabric-samples

A little Happy Birthday to me – I have ordered fabric to make Roman Shades! Something similar to this DIY version here or here. So Pumped!

Has anyone ever tried an Ana White plan before? This is our first attempt. So far so good! What did you guys do this weekend? Any fabric samples happy dances? No? Just me. Oh okay…. *fabric dork*

Peace. Brittney

7 thoughts on “Farmhouse Table: In Progress

  1. Fun blog entry- as usual. Also about to start on a dining project: chalk painting an old buffet from my grandmother. Picked Maison Blanche Franciscan Gray from University Pickers. Wish us luck!

  2. Way to go Ryan!!!!!!!!!!! YOU TWO AMAZE ME. Keep up the good work and thank you so much for keeping us informed. I will of course forward this on to Aunt Linda.

    LOL,

    GrandMOM

  3. We (and by we I mean I have been telling my husband to do it) have been talking about using the old tongue and groove wall pieces from our house to do something similar. My concern has been finishing the table so that spills don’t hurt it. Any thoughts.

Leave a Reply

