Goals for 2014

First off, thanks for all of the love about the AL.com article, whether that was in person, social media or here! We love getting to bring some positive publicity to Merrimack Mill Village! I actually had a friend in Huntsville who contacted me about being interested in Merrimack when they start house hunting. MERRIMACK FOR THE WIN!

Anyways, any big New Year resolution makers out there? I am not really one to make resolutions, but I do think it is important to have goals and to reassess those from time to time. The beginning of the New Year (2014?!?!?!?!) seems like a pretty good time to do that, so I thought I would share a couple things that Ryan and I have on the horizon (hopefully) for this year!

House Related Goals

1. Welcome a healthy baby into the world. Like, I am going to have to give birth to another human. I am still processing that whole giving birth thing. I understand that my body was built to do just that, but it still kind of blows my mind. And, I can no longer say that NEXT year we will have a baby. T-minus 4 months and counting (due date somewhere between May 6 – 13). In case you missed it, we announced the gender here.

2. Have a place for the baby to sleep. That was probably an obvious one. The nursery is officially under way!

Upstairs Nusery progress

3. Have a place for us to sleep upstairs. No one wants to walk up and down the stairs in the middle of the night. We are hoping to wrap up wallpaper scrapping this month! *Fingers crossed*

Saffell master bedroom progress

4. Create a system for organizing our tools and supplies. We have accumulated quite the collection over the past two years, and the tools need a home. We are looking at 4-5 years before we can build a workshop out back, so we need a long term solution we can both live with. We are currently considering using the downstairs unfinished bathroom as an indoor shed.

5. Purge our access stuff (SO. MUCH. STUFF).

6. Be better stewards with our gifts. We have been thinking a lot lately about what Jesus would live like if he lived in America right now. I am pretty sure he would live very differently than the typical middle class and upper middle class family. It is something we are wrestling with.

7. Consume less stuff. Obviously, we have to consume things like food, cleaning supplies, and hygiene items, but we can limit A LOT of other categories like clothes, house hold goods, and baby stuff. By consuming less, we can spend money on things that matter AND reduce our carbon foot print.

8. Buy used goods more. I do shop at thrift stores and craig’s list a good bit for stuff around the house, but we could definitely spend a little more time trying to buy other things second hand (clothes, tools, baby stuff).

9. Give more – Money, house stuff, and time.

10. Create a healthy and active lifestyle for our growing family. We already consider ourselves to be healthy eaters, but there is always room for improvement. We really want to do a better job of shopping local (as well as grow our own garden) and buy grass-fed beef and free range chickens. Thank you Food, Inc. for that.

What are you guys hoping to accomplish this year? Any goals for around the house or for your family? I would love to hear!

Peace.

Brittney

4 thoughts on “Goals for 2014

  1. Brittney,

    I am as always so very proud of you and Ryan and what you are doing with your lives. You have your focus on the ONE that needs to be first which is our Lord, Jesus. He tells us to “SEEK HIM FIRST AND HE WILL ADD WHAT IS NEEDED.” It may not always be what we want, but being aware of other options than just spending and collecting items that are just whims. I do not need much anymore and I am thankful for that.

    Love you and the rooms are taking shape. I anticipate seeing the nursery set up and your bedroom upstairs.

    Keep up the good work!

    Love you, GrandMOM

  2. Looks like we had a lot of the same pre-baby goals (places to sleep, power tools organized)! I have a lot of goals every year but my specific resolution is to buy our meat and produce locally. I’m purchasing my first hog this week!

    • That’s exciting! We have found a local farmer for all of our beef and pork. They make deliveries into town once a week. It cost more, but this month I was able to stay on budget even with that extra cost. Just a little more planning required on my part 🙂 And it taste SO GOOD!

Leave a Reply

