Updates from Upstairs

Hey there blog land. Sorry for the radio silence lately. Ryan and I have been working on LOTS of things upstairs over the past two or three months. There was a celebratory NO MORE WALLPAPER dance we did a while back, and we shared our plans for the nursery and our master bathroom. I am very happy to report we have made lots of progress in all three rooms! In fact, if you follow me on Instagram, you probably already know we MOVED UPSTAIRS! *You may need to pinch me*

Master bedroom painted

If you had told me last year when we moved in that we would be moving upstairs within the year, I would have chuckled and rolled my eyes. If you had told me we had even started the master bathroom upstairs I would have slapped you. If you had told me we would be welcoming a baby in the Spring AND actually have the nursery finished, I would have probably passed out on the floor. Okay, so truth be told the nursery is like 95% finished but close enough! Seriously, we have gotten way more done than I anticipated in the past year. I will admit that a baby coming was a pretty darn good motivator 🙂

Baby shower bump

Quick pregnancy update – I am 39 weeks tomorrow and the entire pregnancy has gone very smoothly, dare I even say it has been easy? *knock on wood* Little Saffell and myself have been healthy the entire time, and I have been able to remain active during my entire pregnancy. Last week I even helped Ryan grout the master shower. Pregnant woman for the win! I’ve had a lot of people ask how I am doing all this stuff (laying flooring, tiling a bathroom and shower, grouting, etc.) during my third trimester. Honestly, I feel a lot better being active and moving than sitting at a desk for 9 hours. I actually stopped working three weeks ago (about a month before our due date) and have been working on stuff around the house, and I feel SO MUCH BETTER doing a little, light manual labor than sitting at a desk all day. When I was working, by 10 AM my back and shoulders would be killing me, but my back and shoulder pain is pretty much non existent when I am up and moving most of the day. I also think my height helps make the third trimester more comfortable in general. Being 5’9 has all kinds of perks! I never thought about a more comfortable pregnancy being one of them. With that said, short ladies out there, I am so SO sorry.Being 5’2 and pregnant sounds terrible. You have my sympathies.

Anyways, back to updates on upstairs. So the master bedroom is now clean and painted from top to bottom! The accent wall turned out really cool and all of our furniture fit as planned, with even some room to spare.

Master bedroom accent wall

We also ordered replacement windows for 4 windows upstairs, including the one to the right of the bed. By the end of May, we should have those windows installed and we will have only 4 windows left in the whole house left. Yay! So far, those windows have not given us any issues what so ever. Fingers crossed that continues!

Master bedroom painted_window

The master bathroom is still a work in progress. We currently have both sinks installed, as well as the toilet and we are SOOO close to having the shower done.

master bath sink wall tile

master bath sink wall master bath tile progress

Proof you can tile when 8 months pregnant! 🙂

master bath toilet

Ryan is actually planning on finishing the shower up today. Ahh!!! WORKING BATHROOM! Pure luxury I tell you.

master bath shower progress

The nursery is by far the most complete room in the house! We even took the time to caulk and putty nail holes – unlike *ahem* the rest of the house. Even though little Miss Saffell won’t be really using her room for a few months, it feels good to have it done for when the day comes. I have a few small things to wrap up (hopefully this week) then I will share pictures!

Ryan and I were both hoping Miss Saffell would decide to come out before her due date (between May 6 and May 13th), but it is not looking that way at the moment. I told Ryan over the weekend that she is just being considerate and letting us finish the master shower 🙂 She is already considerate of others! How nice is that. One less thing for us to try and teach her, ha! It is nice to dream, right?

What have you guys been up to lately? Have you taken advantage of the Spring weather lately? We have tried to take full advantage of the flexibility we have now just to go and do things on a whim like a movie, last minute dinner with friends, late night ice cream runs (totally Ryan’s idea!). Have a good week!

Brittney

 

3 thoughts on “Updates from Upstairs

  1. The house looks great and YOU look fabulous!! You are so cute with your baby bump! Your mom must be almost crazy with joy! 🙂 I’ll be thinking about you the next few weeks as you settle into your home as a family of three. Blessings to all of you! 🙂

    Linda Shelly

  2. So happy that things are going so well!! You are an inspiration!! I am going to have pre-finished engineered wood floors throughout the entire condo, except for the bathrooms. I am so excited!!

  3. Pingback: The Master: Progress so far | younganddomestic

Leave a Reply

