Reagan’s Nursery Reveal

Hello????? Anyone there???? Hi, nice to meet again!

First off, how people blog EVERY SINGLE DAY with a baby is beyond me. Literally, I do not understand how. Maybe they blog while nursing or just decide no sleep is better than little sleep. Maybe one day I can get back to blogging twice a month. 😉

Anyways, Reagan’s room is 97% done! One window valance left to make and two more frames to hang on the gallery wall, but it is done enough! Without further ado….

Reagans_room_reveal Reagans_room_bookshelf2 Reagans-room-reveal

We wanted to something different than the typical baby pink girls nursery, so we went with an aqua and coral color scheme with white and apple green accents. You can see our original plans here. The crib was purchased at a Yard Sale for $10 (thanks Mom!) and given a fresh coat of primer and grey spray paint. *FYI – painting a Jenny Lynn crib requires 5 cans of spray paint* We modified the crib, so the front no longer drops down. I made the bed skirt with fabric from Sir’s in Fayetteville and followed Young House Love’s tutorial.  The small child’s folding chair was a $25 find at a local antique store (Firehouse Antiques for you locals). Ryan built in the bookcases and the glider was a generous gift from my parents. The painting was actually a left over canvas from when we were staging our old house. I had planned on painting something for our dining room, but our house sold so quickly that I didn’t have time to finish it! Recycling for the win!

reagans_room_2

Reagans_room_bookshelf

The changing table was a $20 Goodwill find that also received a coat of grey spray paint. All of her diapers, bath supplies, swaddle blankets and burp cloths are organized there. The baskets came from a variety of places such as Target, antique stores, and Hobby Lobby. The banner was a home made gift from my sister.

Reagans_room_closet

Reagans_room_dresserwall

Aqua and coral nursery

Reagan’s nursery is the smallest bedroom in our house – roughly 9’6″ x 15″. We like that she has a lot of floor space right now, so instead of adding a closet door that swings into the room, we opted for a curtain (fabric also from Sir’s). One day when play space isn’t really needed, we will probably add a door.

The dresser was actually mine from college – probably my very first furniture purchase. The wooden table was actually mine from when I was little. My brother even left his mark by carving his name in the table! The pile of clothes on top are all the clothes Reagan has already out grown that need to be boxed up! The collage is a collection of things we already had with a few new additions, some handmade and some purchased. I still need to hang two more frames on the wall.

The roller shades are from Ikea. I just added some decorative trim at the bottom. I have coral fabric to make a valance for the window, and one of these days I will get around to making the darn thing. One day.

So there you have it! I hope you enjoyed Reagan’s nursery tour. Ryan and I were very excited that we came in under our $500 budget – bead board, baseboard, chair rail, paint, furniture, fabric, built-ins, closet, window treatments, and decorations.

And just a general update on Reagan – the girl is growing like a weed! At her four month check up two weeks ago, she was 17 lbs 10 oz and 25 1/2″ tall! That puts her in the 97 percentile and the size of an average 14 month old. She is a big, healthy, happy baby – and bonus – a pretty good sleeper!

Peace. *Forgive spelling errors – no time to proof these days*

Brittney

3 thoughts on “Reagan’s Nursery Reveal

  1. I just read your entire blog the past couple days… Keep writing please!
    I live in California, and wish I could find an old house here, most of those are in neighborhoods that are seriously dangerous. 😦 So, my husband and I will probably need to settle for a 60’s fixer upper, which means less to work with, and probably asbestos.
    Oh, and I am 10 weeks pregnant, so seeing you tile with a tummy was pretty exciting! (Luckily we already have most of our bills paid down, pfew!)
    Being that I am also crafty, love craigslist, and salvage shops, I really enjoyed reading your posts. It gives me hope!

Leave a Reply

